Digital TV (DTV) Channel Plan from FCC 98-315

On December 18, 1998, the FCC released a Second Memorandum Opinion and Order on Reconsideration of the Fifth and Sixth Report and Orders (FCC 98-315). The actual text of this Order was released on the Internet in February 1999. See fcc98315.txt dated February 5, 1999. The information in these channel listings was extracted directly from this file.

The table is also available as an EXCEL 3.0 workbook. Download fcc98315.xls (350k) or the zipped file (102k).

This is the fourth version of the table of allotments since the original plan in the FCC's 6th Report and Order (See the 6th Report and Order Channel Allotments). On February 17, 1998, as reported in FCC News Release NRET8002, the Federal Communications Commission by Memorandum Opinion and Order on Reconsideration of the Sixth Report and Order (FCC 98-24) released another channel allotment plan for Digital TV (also called DTV or HDTV). Later, on March 12, 1998, the FCC released a new table with three channel and/or power modifications and many changes to the new NTSC interference numbers. (See the March 12 revised text version of the FCC's Allotment Table FCC 98-24, file et8002a.txt).

The DTV power levels are average power. Peak power will be at least four times as much. Refer to the column descriptions for an explanation of the data in each column.

Channel Plan Directory - All data (120 characters wide)

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawai`i
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
  • Guam
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Return to Doug Lung's R. F. Page

    Revised May 2, 1999 by Doug Lung
    Copyright 1999 H. Douglas Lung